WHEATLEY RFC rubbed shoulders with some of the game’s greats at the Crabbie’s National Rugby Awards.

The Oxfordshire outfit were shortlisted for club of the year at Twickenham.

Wheatley came second, pipped by Winsombe RFC, but it did not detract from a memorable evening at the home of English rugby.

Club members and players enjoyed a drink pitch-side, along with England players past and present in Lawrence Dallaglio, Chris Robshaw and Owen Farrell.

Simon Chadbone, club captain, said: “We were over the moon to have been nominated for the award as we feel it demonstrates how far Wheatley have come in recent seasons and look forward to attending more events of this nature.”

Meanwhile, Wheatley host their annual memorial game against Crowthorne in memory of former players Dale Gostick and Jason Laman from 1pm today.

Gostick was killed while serving for the Marines in Afghanistan, while Laman suffered a heart attack during a match against the Berkshire side four years ago.

There will be a minute’s silence, before three shortened matches, as well as a hog roast, open bar, family games and a raffle.