CRICKET: Westbury charge on at the summit

CRICKET: Westbury charge on at the summit

CRICKET: Westbury charge on at the summit

First published in Sport

Westbury stayed on track to retain their OCA League Division 1 title after a 63-run win against Cowley Internationals.

Opener Tom Gurney top-scored with 55 as the leaders set 206-9, before the visitors were dismissed for 163, Sam Stoop taking 3-30.

Westbury 30pts, Cowley Internationals 7

Philip Bateman hit 111 as Westcott beat visitors Cairns Fudge by 93 runs.

He helped Westcott rattle up 229-5.

Rehman Ullah then took 5-24 as Cairns Fudge were all out for 136.

Westcott 30, Cairns Fudge 6

Marsh Gibbon were all out for 115 in a six-wicket loss at Witney Swifts, who got home in the 26th over, Alfie Saunders making 34.

Witney Swifts 30, Marsh Gibbon 4

Brill were skittled for 84 as they lost by 102 runs at Ston-esfield 2nd in their Division 7 encounter.

Stonesfield reached 187-7, but Brill got nowhere near the target.

Westcott 30, Cairns Fudge 6

Westbury’s interest in the Airey Cup ended when they went down to a six-wicket defeat at home to Great Horwood in the quarter-finals on Sunday.

The hosts were dismissed for 170, Sam Willett top-scoring with 46 and Graham Judd making 45.

Neil Wilkins took 4-28 and Matthew McStraw 3-52.

The visitors then eased past the target for the loss of four wickets.


Division 1

Westbury 206-9 (T Gurney 55, N Khan 3-49), Cowley Internationals 163 (A Khan 33, H Sadiqi 31, S Stoop 3-30).

Division 3

Westcott 229-5 (P Bateman 111, N Raynor 58, D Romain 33no), Cairns Fudge 136 (R Ullah 5-24).

Marsh Gibbon 115 (R Godwin 3-11), Witney Swifts 117-4 (A Saunders 34).

Division 7

Stonesfield 2nd 187-7 (L Richards 45, P Jackson 33), Brill 84 (A Parke 30, M Phipps 5-26).

Division 9

Chesterton 2nd w/o Garsington 3rd.

Division 10

Charlbury 3rd 118-9 (M Florey 46no, T Cherry 3-19), Westcott 2nd 119-7 (A Florey 3-35).

Airey Cup quarter finals Westbury 170 (S Willett 46, G Judd 45, N Wilkins 4-28, M McStraw 3-42), Great Horwood 173-4 (G Davies 36, D Armitage 39no).


Div 1: Westbury v Shrivenham.

Div 3: Cairns Fudge v Chesterton, Fringford v Eynsham, Wolvercote v Westcott.

Div 6: Shrivenham 2nd v Westbury 2nd.

Div 7: Brill v Kidlington 2nd.

Div 10: Deddington 2nd v Westcott 2nd.


Keith Crump Centenary Cup semi-finals: Chesterton 2nd v Eynsham 2nd.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree