BANBURY’S grip on the Bernard Tollett Trophy remains as strong as ever after they saw off Aston Rowant.

The holders won by 37 runs at Wormsley to claim an incredible seventh successive title in the T20 competition.

Banbury were put into bat and scored an imposing 177/5, Lloyd Sabin leading the way with an unbeaten 74 off 46 balls.

The captain struck four fours and six sixes, while there were valuable knocks from Joe White (33), Alistair Short (23) and Charles Hill (22).

Rowant were always behind the required run rate and still needed 123 halfway through their innings.

Josh Smith hit 50 (29) to help them reach 140/8, while Joe Thomas took 4/25.

Earlier, Oxford had claimed a crushing nine-wicket win over Henley in the Wilf Bennett final.

The city side put their opponents into bat and pegged them back to 39/4.

Bicester Advertiser:

Oxford following their Wilf Bennett final victory Picture: Oxon CB

Henley recovered to reach 130 all out, captain Adam Lubbock top-scoring with 41, as James Bridson took 4/20.

George Tait was dismissed for a duck with the third ball of the innings, but it did not affect Oxford.

Muhammad Ayub came to the crease to partner Barney Carey and the pair knocked off the total with more than four overs to spare.

Ayub smashed 68 off 48, while the opener hit 53 (45).

Elsewhere, Charlbury rounded off a successful season with victory in the Home Counties Women’s Cricket League final.

The west Oxfordshire side visited Stony Stratford in the Division 1 showpiece, having already won their Super 8s performance group earlier in the summer.

The hosts won the toss and seemed to have the upper hand when they reduced Charlbury to 50/3.

Bicester Advertiser:

The victorious Charlbury team Picture: Alex Westbury

But a 100-run fourth-wicket stand from Lottie Oxton (66) and Chloe Westbury (37) steadied the ship as the visitors closed on 199/7 from their 35 overs.

Jessica Warren claimed two early wickets as the home side began their reply and ended with figures of 3/34, while Abi Norgrove starred with 2/8.

It left Stony Stratford stranded on 145/9, giving Charlbury a 54-run victory.

It was also a successful weekend for Cumnor, who were crowned 2021 Oxfordshire Under 19 champions with a thrilling three-run win over holders and hosts Horspath on finals day.

Captain Dylan Driscoll hit a superb unbeaten 66 from 51 balls to steer the visitors to 135/2 after they had been put in to bat in the T20 decider.

He was well supported by Will Laird (33no) in an unbroken third-wicket stand of 79.

Horspath, who as winners of the much-delayed 2020 competition had lifted the Honey-’B’ Trophy, named in memory of their late player Morris Honey, just two weeks previously, slumped to 11/3 with Abhir Joshi taking two wickets.

Bicester Advertiser:

Horspath's Saif Dogar in full flow against Cumnor Picture: Rob Judges

Alfie Turner (25) led the fightback, and brothers Saif and Rayaan Dogar together with Joe Gibbs kept the hosts in it.

But man-of-the-match Joshi (4/14) returned to strike twice more, and Horspath needed six to win off the final over bowled by Driscoll.

Two came off the first four balls, but then a run out left Horspath 132 all out and sparked Cumnor celebrations.