BANBURY’S grip on the Bernard Tollett Trophy continued as they beat Oxford Downs in the final.

The 17-run success saw the club crowned Oxfordshire’s T20 champions for the sixth year running.

Skipper Olly Clarke won the toss and immediately tucked in, hitting 41 from 28 balls to get the hosts off to a strong start.

Lloyd Sabin, who hit four sixes and three fours in his 53 from 32 balls, put on 81 for the second wicket with Joe White (42).

It saw Banbury post a very competitive 169-4 from their 20 overs.

Downs, beaten finalists last year, made a decent start in their reply, reaching 46-0 at the end of the powerplay.

But some smart fielding from Sabin removed Freddie Smith triggered a wobble as Downs stumbled from 59-0 to 68-3.

Banbury kept the pressure on, with Ollie Wright (2-27) bowling well at the death to leave Downs 17 runs short.

Earlier, Witney Mills lifted the Wilf Bennett Cup.

They posted 133-7 from their 18 overs, which proved just beyond opponents Thame Town, who finished on 119-6 to lose by 14 runs.