MARK Trafford retained his county men’s singles title on his way to a hat-trick of successes, writes PETE EWINS.

The defending champion was given an early scare by Adam Ingram at the Oxford & District League’s finals night, however.

His rival took the first leg by 8,660 points, but Trafford replied with 13,850, winning 14,230-9,270 on aggregate.

He went on to land a title treble, teaming up with Ian Gordon to land the Pairs honour and then the duo joined forces with Pauline Withey to take the 3’s crown.

Donnington’s Sue Atkins is the new Ladies champion.

An aggregate victory over Jenny Florey secured her the crown at the Oxford & District League’s finals night.

Atkins won the first leg by 1,550 points. And although she lost the second, it was a closer affair and gave her the overall victory.

Atkins also scooped the highest break award.

Richard Garrett enjoyed a double success.

He took the Captains Cup with a 12,560-10,060 win over Alan Oliver and then picked up the Off The Spot singles title when beating John Boal.

Melvyn Johnson lifted the Never Won Cup, defeating Roger Tomlin 7,050-6,600 on aggregate, while Mike Jones scooped the Pat Webber Cup after beating previous holder John Patey 8,020-7,580.

Alan Lowe landed the Premier Singles title, beating Gordon 10,820-10,270 in a tense final.

Allan Lacey claimed the Division 1 accolade, seeing off Boal 10,480-5,320.

Alan Oliver won the player of the year award.


Team KO – Group A: Vikings bt Donnington. Group B: Gladiators bt Berinsfield.

Gracie J’s Cup: Vikings bt Donnington. Gracie J’s Plate: Masons bt Berinsfield.