VOLUNTEERS from across the county have been recognised for their outstanding work.

The volunteers, who were nominated by the charities they work for and by the public, received awards at Oxford Town Hall.

More than 40 volunteers were honoured by Oxfordshire Community and Voluntary Action.

Leslie Midwinter, 56, from Jericho, received the volunteer award for his work recycling paint and scrap materials with Headington charity Orinoco to pass on to community groups.

He said: “I feel privileged to be given this award. ”

Paula Mitty, 44, from Blackbird Leys, helps The Leys Children’s Centre train new volunteers. She said: “I was overwhelmed when I found out. It means a great deal to me.”

Oxfordshire Lord Lieutenant Tim Stevenson said: “This award brings alive the variety of work that goes on.”

The volunteer winners were: Paul Armishaw (Thomas Hughes Memorial Hall and Uffington Village), Pat Armstrong (Restore), Sally Barlow (WRVS), Simon Carr (BYHP), Louise Clarence (ARCh), Peter Clifton (The Children’s Society in Oxford), Betty Collins (Oxfordshire County Council – Charlton Daytime Support), Richard Day (Simon House), David Denny (Clowns in the Sky), Elliann Edwards (Oxfordshire Trading Standards), Leah Fowler (SeeSaw), Lex Francis (Spurgeons – Shout Project), Elizabeth Gaffen (Oxfordshire Community Foundation), Hamid Ghodssian (Oxfordshire Voluntary and Community Action), David Goslett (Headway Oxfordshire), Stephanie Griggs-Trevarthen (Free Cakes for Kids), Judith Hartley (Earth Trust), Jane Haynes (The Faringdon Area Project), Joyce Howe (National Organisation of the Widowed), John Hughes (The Archway Foundation), Chinta Kallie (Oxfordshire Equality and Human Rights Council), Val Lee (Oxfordshire Mind), Mary Lindsay (Cherwell Community and Voluntary Service), Leslie Midwinter (Orinoco), Hilary Miles (The Roundabout Centre), Paula Mitty (The Leys Children’s Centre), Clara Mombeshora (Word Fountain Christian Ministries – Family Arena Project), Ted Moore (Parent Partnership Oxfordshire), Gwynneth Pedler (Oxfordshire Unlimited), Henrietta Platman (MacIntyre), Paul Scarrott (My Life My Choice), Philippa Seymour (Oxford Homeless Pathways), Cindy Shannon (Guideposts Trust), Sarah Southwell (Oxfordshire County Council – Footsteps), Penny Stern (Florence Park Children’s Centre), Jacqui Stynch (Age UK Oxfordshire), Colin Taylor (Oxford City Football Club), Jackie Trinder (St John Ambulance), Rebecca Williams (Helen & Douglas House), Andrew Willis (WEA Banbury Branch), Jo Wills (Jack and Jill Pre School), Chris Yoland (Oxfordshire County Council – Abingdon Daytime Support

A number of charities also received awards for their work in the community. They included Restore, Oxford Hub, Yellow Submarine and SeeSaw.