OXFORDSHIRE'S MPs were divided as Boris Johnson's attempt to call an early General Election failed for a second time last night.

The House of Commons rejected the Prime Minister's call for a snap poll, with just 293 votes in favour, 46 against and 303 abstentions.

The government needed the support of 434 MPs under the Fixed Term Parliaments Act.

Read also: Wantage MP will sit as an independent

The motion came five days after the previous attempt to get MPs to agree to an early election and the county's six MPs all voted the same as last week.

Layla Moran, Liberal Democrat MP for Oxford West and Abingdon, once again voted against an early election.

She tweeted just before the vote: "About to vote to NOT have another General Election. Again. Boris Johnson is like the little boy who won’t accept no for an answer. Until we get the extension we will not vote for it. End of."

All three Conservatives - Witney's Robert Courts, Banbury MP Victoria Prentis and Henley's John Howell - voted in favour, alongside the majority of Tories.

But Wantage MP Ed Vaizey, who was kicked out of the party last week, was among the hundreds who abstained, which also included Labour MP for Oxford East, Anneliese Dodds.

Earlier in the evening, MPs narrowly passed a motion forcing ministers to publish conversations about the suspension of parliament - which officially began in the early hours of this morning - and documents on planning for a no-deal Brexit.