Westbury appear OCA League Division 1 title favourites after winning their top-of-the-table clash with Great Horwood.

Opener Tom Gurney, with 59, provided the platform for his team’s 192-8 before skipper Richard Tred-well’s 4-64 helped restrict Hor-wood to 164.

Westbury 29, Great Horwood 7

There was a thriller at Chesterton in Division 3.

Westcott made 153, Lee Price (4-30) and Steve Lewis (4-38) claiming four scalps apiece.

Agonisingly, the hosts were then dismissed for 152, Waqas Ur-Reh-man’s 5-28 being the main reason.

Chesterton 8, Westcott 28

Fringford found Sahil Agarwal too difficult to handle as they lost by seven wickets at Wolvercote.

He finished 99 not out as his side successfully chased down the visitors’ 168-6 total to take victory at 169-3.

Rhys Davies also remained unbeaten on 39 to add to his earlier 4-42.

Wolvercote 28, Fringford 4

Marsh Gibbon added Wantage to their list of victims.

Joe Leonard returned figures of 5-39 as the latter were 151 all out before Charlie Shipperley made 64 in the victorious chase.

Wantage 6, Marsh Gibbon 30

Westbury 2nd’s Will Woodward took 5-14 as Oxenford were skittled for 62 in their 116-run win in Division 6.

Earlier, William Gurney had top-scored with 55 as Westbury posted 178-8.

Oxenford 2nd 4, Westbury 2nd 29

It proved a good weekend for the team from Westbury as they won the Steve Dixon Memorial Cup by beating Risinghurst by 36 runs at Min-ster Lovell on Sunday.

George Markham hit 64 in Westbury’s 203-5, and then took 5-26 and two catches as Risinghurst were dismissed for 167.

Brill went down to a 36-run defeat at home to Swinbrook in Division 7.

The visitors set 189-8, with Darren Kavanagh capturing 3-19.

However, the hosts came up short in their reply as they were dismissed for 153, JeremyMansfield top-scoring with 49. Charles Moss made 31.

Brill 7, Swinbrook 2nd 29

Chesterton 2nd strolled to a nine-wicket win at Britwell Salome 2nd in Division 9.

The hosts were restricted to 108, Peter Talbot taking 3-33, before Che-sterton won it at 109-1, Talbot making 49 and Peter Whitlock 35 not out.

l Britwell Salome 2nd 1, Chesterton 2nd 30


Division 1

Westbury 192-8 (T Gurney 59, S Harper 32, N Wilkins 4-53), Great Horwood 164 (R Tredwell 4-64).

Division 3

Westcott 153 (A Khan 53, L Price 4-30), Chesterton 152 (P Hammond 40, G White 35, W Ur-Rehman 5-28).

Wantage 151 (D Spencer 37, R Chapman 30, J Leonard 5-39), Marsh Gibbon 152-6 (C Shipperley 64, J Mabbett 3-35).

Fringford 168-6 (J Bacon 75, T Burcham 31, R Davies 4-42), Wolvercote 169-3 (S Agarwal 99no, R Davies 39no).

Division 6

Westbury 2nd 178-8 (W Gurney 55, H Ellanki 3-31), Oxenford 2nd 62 (W Woodward 5-14).

Division 7

Swinbrook 2nd 189-8 (M Reed 32no, D Kavanagh 3-19), Brill 153 (J Mansfield 49, C Moss 31, N Judd 30, M Reed 3-29).

Division 9

B Salome 2nd 108 (P Lawrence 39, P Talbot 3-33), Chesterton 2nd 109-1 (P Talbot 49, P Whitlock 35no).


Div 1: Westbury v Hook Norton.

Div 3: Marsh Gibbon v Fringford, Westcott v Eynsham, Wolvercote v Chesterton.

Div 6: Hook Norton 2nd v Westbury 2nd.

Div 7: E&W Hendred 2nd v Brill.

Div 9: Chesterton 2nd v Sunningwell 2nd.

Div 10: Kidlington 3rd v Westcott 2nd.


Telegraph Cup final: Wantage v Marsh Gibbon (Chipping Norton, 1pm).