CRICKET: Mahmood's super century can't force win

CRICKET: Mahmood's super century can't force win

CRICKET: Mahmood's super century can't force win

First published in Sport

A brilliant century from Shahid Mahmood could not prevent Twyford slipping to defeat at Great Brickhill in Cherwell League Division 1.

The hosts amassed 312-4 before declaring after 48 ove-rs, Patrick Prasad making 101.

Mahmood then smashed 134 and Ben Elkington 44 as Twyford fell just short on 295-9. Arjun Jhala took 4-59.

Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts kept up their slim promotion chances in Division 2 with an eight-wicket win against Cropredy, who were relegated as a result.

Sanjay Vinjimoor (5-36) and Arfan Ahmed (3-25) did the damage for the hosts as Cropredy were all out for 175.

Aadam Samiullah (71no) and Pablo Mukherjee (35) saw Nondies to victory at 176-2.

Bicester & North Oxford had no answer to Dinton 2nd’s Neil Davies (4-28) and Aaron Allison (4-37) in a seven-wicket loss in Division 3.

The visitors were restricted to 138, Richard Simpson top-scoring with 37.

Ryan Biggs (47) and Daniel Ripley (44no) then saw Dinton to 139-3.

More than 500 runs were scored at Twyford 2nd, who played out a tense draw with Cumnor 2nd in Division 5.

The visitors declared on 253-7 from 49 overs, thanks to Oliver Gray (64), James Lee (62) and Ben Harden (50).

Sam Lyon (48) and Andrew Cook (43no) almost won it for Twyford, but Harden took 5-51 as they fell short on 251-8.

Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 2nd crashed to a ten-wicket defeat at Long Marston 2nd in Division 6.

Nondies were shot out for 125, before Marston got home without losing a wicket at 126.

The visitors were docked five points for failing to provide an umpire.


Division 1

Great Brickhill 312-4 (P Prasad 101, A Hammond 60no, G Carter 58, D Aris 45, B Afzal 3-72), Twyford 295-9 (S Mahmood 134, B Elkington 44, A Jhala 4-59, J Blackwell 3-56).

Division 2

Cropredy 175 (P Cooling 30, S Vinjimoor 5-36, A Ahmed 3-25), Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 176-2 (A Samilullah 71no, P Mukherjee 35).

Division 3

Bicester & North Oxford 138 (N Davies 4-28, A Allison 4-37), Dinton 2nd 139-3 (R Biggs 47, D Ripley 44no).

Division 5

Cumnor 2nd 253-7 (O Gray 64, J Lee 62, B Harden 50), Twyford 2nd 251-8 (S Lyon 48, A Cook 43no, J Goff 38, B Harden 5-51, M Jones 3-78).

Division 6

Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 2nd 125 (H Robinson 4-31, S McLeman 3-29), Long Marston 2nd 126-0 (R Miscampbell 59no, M Wareham 49no).

Division 7

Bicester & North Oxford 2nd 179-5 (S Jackson 93no, D Simpson 42, M Fiaz 3-45), Horley 2nd 180-0 (S Pearce 103no, M Kelly 66no).

Division 10

Leighton Buzzard Town 3rd 177 (B Gates 123, A Gilder 4-27), Twyford 3rd 90 (A Bell 5-15).

SATURDAY’S FIXTURES Div 1: Twyford v Oxford 2nd.

Div 2: Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts v Bledlow Village.

Div 3: Oxford Downs 2nd v Bicester & North Oxford.

Div 5: Stokenchurch v Twyford 2nd.

Div 6: Banbury 4th v Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 2nd.

Div 7: Bicester & North Oxford 2nd v Abingdon Vale 3rd.

Div 10: Twyford 3rd v Bicester & North Oxford 3rd.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree