Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts were bowled out for just 92, but still went on to prevail by four runs in a tense finish to their Cherewell League Division 2 match with Abingdon Vale on Saturday.

Visitors Vale could manage only 88 in reply and so find themselves at the foot of the table after the first month.

Asked to bat first in damp conditions, Nondies were in trouble from the start.

Joe Butcher’s fine opening burst removed the top three in no time, and it was left to Jon Guthrie (40) to try to salvage the innings.

However, Vale’s left-arm spinner Paul White was in no mood to relinquish control, removing Guthrie before ripping through the tail to leave Nondies in trouble.

The visitors’ innings also got off to a spluttering start, with opener Amith Premkumar (32) watching a procession of wickets from the non-striker’s end.

Once he was removed by the miserly Mark Strong, who finished with 3-17 from 14 overs, Vale’s hopes of victory faded.

Arfan Ahmed returned to deliver the final, fatal blows – White the last man out after missing a straight one.

The win takes Nondies clear at the top, while Vale will hardly believe that they failed to chase such a low total.

Oxford & Bletch Nondescripts 25pts, Abingdon Vale 5

Twyford reached 216-8 from their 53 overs at Cum-nor in Division 1, which always looked like far too many.
Kumber Hussain hit an unbeaten 56, with Sam Jones (3-29) shining for the hosts.
Cumnor had hopes while Ali Morteza was at the crease, but he was left stranded on 67 not out as Bilal Afzal (4-42), Zawar Hussain (3-42) and Mark Stanway (3-43) worked their way through the rest to bowl out the hosts for 177.
Cumnor 6pts, Twyford 25

The Division 3 fixture between Bicester & North Oxford and Bletchley Town did not start, with the sides awarded six points each.

Sam Roberts (4-38) and Tom Jackson (3-31) combined well for Division 5 leaders Twyford 2nd, who dismissed Thame Town 2nd for 134.
Ian McStay (4-13) gave the visitors hope, but Sam Lyon (32no) eventually steered Twyford to 138-7.
Twyford 2nd 25, Thame Town 2nd 9

Oxford & Bletchingdon 3rd were skittled for 59 as they went down to an eight-wicket defeat against Tiddlington 3rd, who eased to victory at    60-2 in their Division 8 clash.
Tiddington 3rd 25, Ox & Bletch 3rd 2

A six-wicket haul from Simon Harper was not enough for  Twyford 3rd to force a victory against Cropredy 3rd in Division 10. Harper finished with figures of 6-31 as Cropredy were restricted to 154.

However, Twyford found runs hard to come by as they made 102-6 in reply.
Cropredy 3rd 14, Twyford 3rd 6

Division 1
Twyford 216-8 (K Hussain 56no, T Hussain 32, S Khari 32, S Jones 3-29), Cumnor 177 (A Morteza 67no, B Asal 4-42, Z Hussain 3-42, M Stanway 3-43).
Division 2
Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 92 (J Guthrie 40, P White 4-16, J Butcher 3-12), Abingdon Vale 88 (A Premkumar 32, M Strong 3-17, A Ahmed 3-20).
Division 3
Bletchley Town v Bicester & North Oxford – abandoned.
Division 5
Thame Town 2nd 134 (S Roberts 4-38, T Jackson 3-31), Twyford 2nd 138-7 (S Roberts 38no, S Lyon 32no, I McStay 4-13).
Division 6
Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 2nd 143 (O Malik 4-22, U Rehman 3-33), East Oxford 2nd 146-3 (A Hamid 64, M Manzoor 46).
Division 7
Bletchley 2nd 77, Bic & North Oxford 2nd 80-3 (S Conway 34).
Division 8
Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 3rd 59 (L Glady 3-3, C Evans 3-7), Tiddington 3rd 60-2.
Division 10
Cropredy 3rd 154 (Z Khan 87, D Spencer 31, S Harper 6-31), Twyford 3rd 102-6 (M Starkie 3-28).
Dinton 3rd v Bicester & North Oxford 3rd – abandoned.
Div 1: Twyford v Thame Town.
Div 2: Cublington v Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts.
Div 3: Bicester & North Oxford v Banbury 3rd.
Div 5: Didcot 2nd v Twyford 2nd.
Div 6: Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 2nd v Great & Little Tew 3rd.
Div 7: Sandford St Martin 2nd v Bicester & North Oxford 2nd.
Div 8: Blewbury & Wallingford 2nd v Oxford & Bletchingdon Nondescripts 3rd.
Div 10: Bicester & North Oxford 3rd v Challow & Childrey 3rd, Twyford 3rd v Didcot 4th.