Three Oxfordshire MPs vote in favour of HS2

Three Oxfordshire MPs vote in favour of HS2

Three Oxfordshire MPs vote in favour of HS2

First published in News
Last updated
Bicester Advertiser: Photograph of the Author by , Council Reporter, also covering Oxford city centre. Call me on 01865 425429

THREE of Oxfordshire’s MPs voted in favour of high speed rail last night.

Nicola Blackwood, for Oxford West and Abingdon, Ed Vaizey, for Wantage, and John Howell, for Henley, all voted in favour of the controversial new train line between London and Birmingham.

Oxford East MP Andrew Smith, Banbury MP Sir Tony Baldry and Witney MP David Cameron did not vote in last night’s vote in the House of Commons.

Sir Tony Baldry, whose constituency the rail line would pass through, said he abstained because he didn’t think the bill would be defeated and he disagreed with opponents of the scheme making the vote a “test of strength”.

Instead he said he welcomed the opportunity to scrutinise the bill.

A spokesman for Mr Cameron said he was otherwise engaged. 

A group of 34 Tories voted against the High Speed Rail (London-West Midlands) Bill 2013-14 which would approve the first phase of the multi-billion pound project.

The train line would pass Aylesbury and Buckingham, passing briefly through Oxfordshire as Finmere and Mixbury. 

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree